Skip to Content

Good Neighbor Scholarship

The Good Neighbor scholarship is for associate, certificate, undergraduate, and graduate candidates.

This scholarship is designed for students not eligible for instate tuition via a waiver (Mexican waiver), in-state scholarship, or assistantship. However Mexican nationals qualify for the Tuition assistance for Mexican Students which allows citizens with documented financial need to waive non-resident tuition and pay the same tuition as Texas residents at TXST. A student must enroll full time (12 hours for undergraduates, 9 hours for graduates) and must be in good academic standing to receive this waiver, applications are at the Scholarship office in JCK.

The Good Neighbor Scholarship is a financial aid tool, that provides students from eligible countries with complementary financial support that would trigger In-state tuition after the $1,000 mark. It is designed to encourage academically talented students from the countries of the Western (American) hemisphere (other than Cuba and the U.S.) to pursue higher education in the State of Texas. Thus establishing a beneficial link between the State of Texas and the home country of the students. The Good Neighbor Scholarship provides an exemption from the payment of tuition (not fees) for the 12-month period beginning with the Fall Semester following selection as a scholarship recipient.


Applicants must have resided in the Western (American) Hemisphere for a period of at least five years.
Applicants cannot be members of the Communist Party.
Applicants cannot have applied for Permanent Resident status in the US, or have dual citizenship that includes the U.S.
Applicants must be enrolled in a TXST program and maintaining satisfactory academic progress toward a degree.
Applicants must be a bona fide native-born citizen and resident of an eligible country.
Applicants must be enrolled at TXST during the scholarship awarding period.

Eligible Countries (Independent nations located in Western Hemisphere)

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize (British Honduras)
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Western Hemisphere Countries (Ineligible by Statute)

  • Anguilla (territory of United Kingdom)
  • Aruba (Part of Kingdom of the Netherlands)
  • Bouvet Island (Norwegian dependency)
  • Cayman Islands (British administration)
  • Clipperton Islands (possession of France)
  • Cuba (ineligible by statute)
  • Faulkland
  • Venezuela
  • Islands (Great Britain)
  • French Guiana (French Overseas Department)
  • Guadeloupe (Department of France)
  • Montserrat (Overseas territory of the United Kingdom)
  • Netherland Antilles (Autonomous territory of the Netherlands)
  • St. Helena (British colony)
  • St. Pierre & Miquelon (Self-governing territorial collectivity of France)
  • S. Georgia & S. Sandwich Islands (British Administration)
  • Turks & Caicos Islands (British Overseas territory)

To apply follow this link: